a morning’s walk.

Hello, friend…

I woke up this morning and turning on the news, I was met with sights of anger and pain. The sun was shining bright and lovely outside my window so I opted to go for a morning walk. Just me and the birds, and the buds in the forest and the quiet. I don’t know about you, but I am very sponge like to anything around me. If you cut your finger, I feel it. That kind of thing. I’m like a Mr Clean Magic Sponge, a magnet to energy and in I come to swoop it up- it’s a puzzle my therapist and I have yet to solve, my need to come in a essentially pinch hit for whatever is wearing you down. But I’ve ALWAYS been like this, very empathetic, very much wanting to listen to both sides. I don’t necessarily dislike this quality about myself, but it is exhausting – especially in days like these.

I’m a certified fence sitter, I guess. Up on my perch, listening. It’s not a bad thing, it isn’t – listening is good. Being quiet is okay. So this morning, I took note of the news of the world and went to consult mamma earth- taking a walk through my neighbourhood with a diversion through our neighbourhood forest. I watch a program on TV (and have for years) called CBS Sunday Morning. They end each episode with a moment of nature. And I had a moment on my walk of remembering how on 9/11, in their episode that followed that horror, they went to a scene in middle America- a beautiful scene of nature- and I remember thinking in one part of the world there is such hurt and sorrow, and yet here are birds being birds. Paying no mind. I like those pockets of stillness, reminders that life is alternately beautiful and bleak every single day.

And as an artist, of which my boyfriend is too (we’re both stand-up comics), I really do think art matters even more in times like these. We need those respites. Those little moments to exhale and laugh. I like to think that we’re covering all our bases right now, not everyone has to be in the same camp. It’s okay to have differences. I like that in my social circle I’m offering my moments of respite to a heavy news feed. I’m volunteering with GlobalMedic. These are my acts of service. Art is extremely powerful as a voice of expression, but I think tiny moments of joy and silly are equally as important in such chaotic days. I’m not being ignorant to what is going on around me, I just feel like my job is to remind that there is still hope. I love how Chef Jose Andres reminds us to build longer tables, not higher walls. Truly, you can learn SO much by sharing a meal with someone or sharing a joke- it’s little cracks in the pavement, that lead to more light getting in.

So I took my time on my walk, I met a lovely puppy who is blind & had the kindness demeanor, I admired the trees and flowers and a squirrel frightened me as I stood in the forest and had a bit of a cry. How on earth do we keep doing this to ourselves? Anyway. (deep breath/exhale/repeat) We do what we need to do, we speak up and we listen and we make art and we offer kindness. We do better as we learn. There is still good in the world… be kind to each other. Celebrate how you’re different. Let love rule. Please.

xo.

All photos taken by me, on my morning walk.

Leave a comment