jane

Hello, friend…

I’m trying to wrap my head around the news that has come out of Orlando this weekend. The death of a young musician. The mass murder at a dance club. People wanting to express themselves, and dance, and love, and create… I just don’t know. I just don’t know. I am sad. I am sad for people I did not know, for their friends and families… who are trying to to breathe and make sense of something utterly incomprehensible.

And Orlando is not the only place where this happens. This is not anything different, unfortunately… which adds to the hurt. This is too commonplace. Which, I’m pretty sure, is not how this should be. When my brother came out, I recall telling my mom “Yes? And?” I wish people didn’t have to worry about loving who they love… if you’re lucky enough to find that person, oh my gosh! That’s  incredible!!! I am (as this blog will show) really not good* at romance! I am SO happy and slightly envious of those who find that secret door and get to unlock it!! TELL ME HOW!!!!!**

So. I am sitting here in my bedroom and just listening to music, when the song Jane by Barenaked Ladies came on a moment ago. And I am wishing things were simpler, as they seem to have been when this song came out. When people knew what the Evan & Juliana reference in the song meant.*** Likely, times weren’t really simpler, but they felt like it to me. I just want to go to there now. 😦

xo.

*I hope this will change
**I know this is not possible… but… 😉
*** Evan was the lead singer of The Lemonheads, Juliana played in various bands… just google them.

Leave a Reply

