a mix tape for the stars

Hello, friend…

For those who have been following my stories & tales, you know that my first love James was very ill with cancer. And sadly, he lost his fight last week… passing away on Wednesday afternoon. At the time, I was at a play (a matinee of If/Then) and at one point in the play I had a feeling that something bad had happened. I couldn’t figure it out at the time, and figured it had to do with what I saw on stage; but later that night, I learned the news of the day.

Perhaps that’s what I felt during the play. James and I were intertwined from day one, that perhaps I felt him leaving. As I think about it now, I’m crying. I have cried so much in the past few days, I am quite surprised I have any liquid left in me! But music has been a comfort to ease certain moments, and so I present to you “a mix tape for the stars”…

Mix tapes. For those who remember making a mix tape, was it not such an act of kindness and affection? Did you not love getting one or making one?! Here were your carefully selected songs, presented with thought and love, to someone you dug or someone you had a crush on. I really miss making them, it’s not the same on a Playlist to download or I guess a CD for those still keeping that dream alive.

So, I prepared a list of songs I’d put on my mix tape that maybe James’ daughter Emma will listen to one day, or maybe James will as I believe people don’t really leave us… they just appear in a different form… either way, these tunes bring comfort. Some are for certain memories, others simply because they make me happy.

xo.

a mix tape for the stars

SIDE A: 
1. Brown Eyed Girl- Van Morrison
2. My Girl- The Temptations
3. You’ve Got a Friend- James Taylor
4. When We Were Young- Adele
5. Love Song- The Cure
6. Girl from Ipanema- Stan Getz
7. Cherish- Madonna

SIDE B:
1. The Scientist- Coldplay
2. Bewitched- Ella Fitzgerald
3. Maybe in September- Tony Bennett
4. Sugar, Sugar- The Archies
5. Together Again- Janet Jackson
6. I Want You- Savage Garden
7. It Never Entered My Mind- Miles Davis

Leave a Reply

