that’s so random…

Hello, friend…

It’s late and I’ve eaten way too many carbs today. I feel like a ball of dough right now. But… some things in life, though seeming right in the moment (toast with jam after eating half a bag of popcorn… sure! give ‘er!!)… make you very bloated afterwards. But, we do things and sometimes thought is given before hand. Though this is not always the case. The man who asked for his number back comes to mind.

Yup. I once had a guy give me his number… and then ask for it back. One summer’s day I was heading to the subway station and on my way to… hmm… let’s just say eat something. I eat a lot. Likely I was on my way to brunch, and I do not like to be late for brunch. Which was likely why as I went down the stairs, and this guy was coming up, I wasn’t too friendly.

He inquired where I was rushing off too and if I had plans later. I told him I did and tried to get one step further down the stairs.

“Well, can I give you my number in case you’re free later?” he asked.

“Uh, sure,”- I replied.

And he then proceeded to hand me his number written on a piece of paper (how many of these things did he have handy?) and ask me if I would indeed call him later. That’s when I put on my honesty cap and told him “No, I really don’t think I will be calling” followed by an apology and my third attempt to get one step further down the stairs. The response I was about to get from him was not what I was expecting…

“You’re not? Can I have my number back then?”

Okay, I get that it’s not easy to approach people on the street, it takes guts and nerve and courage (and, let’s be honest, booze). But you don’t ask for your number back! Or, hell, maybe you can. Which is getting me to thinking what else I can take back… can I take back that I slept with [insert guy’s name here]?

No?

Hmph.

xo

Leave a Reply

