mic check…

Hello, friend…

I’m finally home from a very long, but very creative day. From transcribing this morning, to stage managing a friend’s upcoming Fringe show and finally running lights & sound at the local comedy club I work at… I’m finally in my pj’s and home. (sigh) I hope you’re getting to know me as I write these posts and send them off into the internets universe… for those who know me personally it’s no surprise I’m a (slight) workaholic, but for those who don’t know me so well…. I tend to wear a few hats. I mean, I like hats… but the proverbial hat(s) is what I’m referring to here.

Take the job I have at the comedy club, for example. I’ve just started to work as a Lighting & Sound Technician again, and it makes me giggle to have folks come up to me before their shows start, with a worried expression on their face, asking if I’ve done this before. I take a breath, smile and calmly tell them they’re in good hands. I started working as a tech for improv shows almost… wait for it… 20 years ago.

Trust me, the realization that this started for me 20 years ago makes me both sad and… well… oh fuck it, it’s kind of depressing that was 20 years ago I first walked into the now-defunct Big City Improv on Queen West on Hallowe’en with my high school pal Christina. If you wore a costume, you got into the show for free. Given that we were students at Etobicoke School of the Arts, we did not need to be asked twice to go somewhere in costume! So down we went, Christina as a “beat-nick” and I as Cinderella… and we were the only ones there dressed up. Leading the comics to think we worked there. Well, by the time we left I had I given my name & number in case they needed an extra hand one night or two… and within a month I was volunteering there, cleaning the washrooms and chatting up our sometimes guest improviser Mark McKinney (of “Kids in the Hall”, “SNL” etc etc fame). I was cleaning toilets for FREE in a comedy club. But… not long after, I rose up to be one of the lighting improvisers at Big City. For the record, I am STILL embarrassed by how badly my first show went. Holy cow, it was rough… but it was my own fault. (Though I redeemed myself in the 2nd show, with a rather on-point Film Noir parody.)

I’m one of those girls who prefers being behind the scenes. For as long as I can remember, I get legitimately pumped to see a crew setting up the stage before a concert. I walk past a lighting board and swoon at the lights and shiny things. Sure, at times I’ve wondered if I have some un-diagnosed condition, but I think it’s a genuine love for being a part of a show come to life. I also get to push buttons and see what happens when I turn this dial or that dial… I still love it!!

And I’m proud to be a woman doing this kind of work! I got some rather swell kudos tonight… one gal was genuinely excited I will be working her show Friday.

Yet, despite how good & tired I feel after all that I packed into today… the club bartender tonight noticed I wasn’t myself. Bartenders are observant like that. It’s true… I’m a bit bummed about a few things. Namely, that on Monday I declared this was going to be a “dry week”! No booze so I could do a system re-boot! Well, it’s Wednesday and let’s just say the wine I had tonight was delicious. As was the beer I had yesterday. And before the show tonight. Hmph. I’m also bummed out that things are really skidding (it seems to me anyhow) with the guy I’ve been dating. I know…  at 37, I’m being a bit of “a girl” complaining about such dumb things.

But I am a girl, damnit! And I’m charge of stuff!! And if I focus on that more than the booze I meant to avoid and the boy… I feel pretty fucking alright.

Now, if you’ll excuse me… zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

xo.

Leave a Reply

