those santa ana winds….

Hello, friend…

I’m sort of at a loss as to what day it is. It’s a job hazard of working from home… days of the week sort of blend into a big ball of SundayMondayTuesdayFriday. Nevertheless, I’m sitting at home… cozy by the fireplace tv channel (I actually am sitting by the fireplace tv channel) while the wind angrily blows outside. I’m calling them the Northern Santa Ana winds.

Why? Well, I recently met a guy from California. And he just headed back home this morning (to, I should clarify, California… he was only in town briefly) … and now the wind is doing something crazy. Hmmm… I wonder what is afoot? 🙂

We met on New Year’s Eve, me and Mr. California. Meeting on New Year’s Eve can lead to one of two places, I figure… never seeing each other again or… the opposite of that. Okay, I clearly have no ability for witty analogies at this moment of the day BUT! I think it has a better chance than my last relationship with a guy from California.

It was 2007, I was in L.A. seeing friends and one day took myself to Venice Beach. I had my camera, my notebook (I was in the midst of writing my 1st play at the time) and the sunny California sunshine guiding me along. I went to buy myself some lunch on the boardwalk, sat down and there he was. Our eyes met and he told me how beautiful I was. He told me he wanted to take me out.

Sure, he was homeless and really, really old but one should never say never, right?

I contemplated how I’d explain this guy to my parents. I briefly thought of what our life might be like. And before I could tell my Venice Beach Romeo that this wasn’t in the stars… he got arrested. I think it might of been because he started urinating in public. Maybe it was from the drugs he had with him.

ANYHOO…

I didn’t have to break the poor guy’s heart. The cops just handcuffed him and carted him away!  So I finished my lunch, overheard two guys debating if they should use FedEx or UPS to send their marijuana to whoever had just purchased from them and headed to a big rock on the beach where I finished my play. (I gave it the title  How Does a Drug Deal Become a Decent 3rd Date? and it opened the following year. It would tour through 4 cities and even made it Off-Off Broadway!)

But I digress.

The fact that 2015 started with my having a date… I think this year has promise, kids. I really do. All thanks to that good ol’ California sunshine… and those mysterious winds. 😉

xo.

 

One response to “those santa ana winds….

Leave a Reply

