married to my job…

Hello, friend…

It’s been a long week. Aside from that fitness challenge I signed up for (which is going rather well, I think!), my days and nights have been spent juggling my job as a script coordinator on a comedy show and transcribing for a very popular home reno show. I like to work and for the most part, I love the industry I’m in. I’ve been fascinated by television ever since I was a little kid, be it watching Bob Barker (when he was still dying his hair!) host the Price Is Right or being mesmerized by my very first crush, John Davidson (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Davidson_%28entertainer%29). What can I say, I knew early on that this business was going to be a major part of my life.

And 20 years ago, I started out at my local cable station as a Intern. (jeesus, it was 20 years ago?!)

It can explain why the only blind date I’ve ever been on, at the age of 16, ended with the guy (who’s name I cannot remember but he looked like Nic Cage, probably explaining why I can’t look at Nic Cage anymore without cringing) complaining that I was too “career driven”. We never saw each other again. And the guy & gal we were set up by (a pair that met at a lesbian dance night or something, though they’re straight, and gave birth to a lovely daughter soon after) were apologetic… but I’ve always felt that occasional look from friends saying “you work too much”. I love what I do! I have goals!! Why is that a problem?!

Well, possibly it could be a problem in that the most action I’ve gotten in MONTHS happened this week when one of the writers on our show helped me un-jam the photocopier…

It was pretty intense.

That paper was really rammed in there.

But this is why I tend to date guys I meet at work, mainly because I always seem to be at work. And perhaps this is not a healthy decision… I have heard the expression that one should not “shit where one eats”… but it’s not that easy to find a guy who’s available to meet up late at night…

Scratch that. It’s TOTALLY easy to find that guy.

… But it’s not that easy to find a guy that understands or even likes my work schedule. Television is a weird beast. It needs attention constantly, it needs to know it’s pretty, it wants you to find it interesting… it’s like I never left high school.

I could do something else, not work in the entertainment business… but the truth is, I’d be miserable. I like what I do and I like who I am! The trick is finding that guy who can handle it… me… that I’m okay on my own now and then. I just would like to find that guy. That shouldn’t be too hard… right?

I’ll report back…

xo.

(p.s His name was John!!!!!!!!!!! That blind date I went on at 16!! John. Yes.)

Leave a Reply

