“in three months i’ll be good to meet for a coffee…”

Hello, friend…

I wonder about a lot of things. Sometimes it’s serious stuff, sometimes it’s “Why do I have the song Cult of Personality by Living Colour stuck in my head?” (as I’m presently wondering right now).

When I find myself thinking about certain things, I am almost always ask myself “What would Mary do?”

Now, by Mary you might think it’s something Biblical. But no, no in this case… for me… the Mary I’m referring to is Mary Tyler Moore. I’m a HUGE fan of the TV classic (that still holds up all these years later, thankyouverymuch) and Mary is kind of like my spirit animal. She’s in the TV industry (like me!) and she’s single (like me!) and she has a terribly cute apartment and a close group of good friends (me! Me!).

Mary met some lovely gents (though all looking suspiciously older than their proclaimed “late 30s”, if you’re asking my casting opinion)… but she never settled. And while I’ve stuck with certain people and situations when I should have kept walking, I think I share that similarity with her too.

Take, for example, the guys I meet who tell me they’re “just chillin’ and loving life” when asked what they do for a living. Shit! You can make a career out of doing that?! Why the hell did I go to College?! You know, this kind of bullshit wouldn’t have flown in let’s say, my grandpa’s day… my “papa”, Arthur, was a prince of a man. A British gem. He’s been gone for a number of years now, but I’m sure he’s up there in the big pub in the sky enjoying a pint and shaking his head at the guys I’m meeting.

So when did things change??

I’m not entirely sure. I’m not entirely sure why I’m meeting guys, mainly online, who… as one did today, said to me “I’d love to meet for coffee… in about three months.”

Where the hell do you get your coffee?! Belize?!

I mean, sure it’d take a bit to save up to fly there for that perfect cup of joe. I could understand the need to give a three month window for a fucking coffee date if it required going to a South American country. But there are FIVE STARBUCKS in my neighbourhood. I can stand on the corner of my street and see four to my left and one to my right.

So, like my idol Mary Tyler Moore I will just keep doing what I do… with my papa’s voice gently advising me to “punch that guy in the nose”.

xo.

InstagramCapture_8c9ffdff-3e10-4f63-8d51-ef4b7a1c929f_jpg

(my papa Arthur and me, 1979)
(for the record, I had that old lady frown in most of my baby pictures)

Leave a Reply

